Officer of the Year
Marcus Pesquera of the San Bernardino California Police Department, 2015 NRA Law Enforcement Officer of the Year logo125.jpg
Click here to read about the 2015 Law Enforcement Officer of the Year, Officer Marcus Pesquera of the San Bernardino California Police Department!

NRA's Law Enforcement Officer of the Year Award was established in 1993 and recognizes an exceptional act or service by a law enforcement officer and is administered by the NRA Law Enforcement Division. Nominations are accepted from anyone having knowledge of the nominee's actions. This includes, but is not limited to, the nominee's agency head, other law enforcement officials, elected officials, fellow officers, community leaders, interested citizens, and NRA members.

For eligibility information, award categories, and complete information, click here for the NRA Officer of the Year Nomination Form.

Nominations can be sent at any time throughout the year, but must be received by October 15th. You may call 703-267-1649 or send an e-mail to for more information.

NRA Officer of the Year Award recipients received an engraved pistol from Smith & Wesson.

Smith and Wesson

oots-sw.jpg Smith & Wesson, a premier supplier of police firearms, supports the NRA's Officer of the Year Program by providing an engraved pistol to the recipient of this prestigious award.

Our thanks to Smith & Wesson and congratulations to our Officer of the Year!

Previous Recipients
2014 Deputy Mark Vaughan, Oklahoma County Sheriff's Department
2013 Officer Christopher Shine, North Liberty Iowa Police Department
2012 Detective David McCarley, City of Pearl Mississippi Police Department
2011 Deputy Michael S. Zack, Cecil County Maryland Sheriff's Department
2010 Wildlife Officer Michael K. Neal, Arkansas Game & Fish Commission
2009 Sergeant Dave Lawler, Linn County Oregon Sheriff's Office
2008 Officer Timothy A. Stringer, Ferguson Township Police Department, Ferguson Township, Pennsylvania
2007 Captain Philip Hemphill, Mississippi Highway Patrol
2006 Trooper Rick Smith, Texas Department of Public Safety
2005 Officer James D. Niggemeyer, Columbus Division of Police, Columbus, Ohio
2004 Officer Rodney Chambers, Amtrak Police Department, Washington, D.C.
2003 Sergeant Marcus Young, Ukiah Police Department, Ukiah, California
2002 Patrolman Gary "Kevin" Helms, Shelby County, TN Sheriff's Office
2001 Agent Clay B. Tippit, U.S. Border Patrol, Marfa, Texas
2000 Sergeant Harry A Baumann, Clarkstown, New York Police Department
1999 Sergeant Stephen Melaragno, Providence, Rhode Island Police Department
1998 Corporal James E. Hosfelt, Jr., City of Dover, Delaware Police Department
1997 Officer Diana Dunigan, Philadelphia Police Department, Pennsylvania
1996 Sheriff Kevin Beary, Orange County Sheriff's Office, Florida
1995 Chief Michael Dorn, Bibb County Public Schools Campus Police Department, Georgia
1994 Sheriff Richard Mack, Graham County Sheriff's Office, Arizona
1993 Officer Tina Dillard, DeKalb County, Georgia Police Department